///Society of MBA Alumni

Society of MBA Alumni

Society of MBA Alumni 2017-11-07T16:37:46+00:00

The Iowa State University MBA works in collaboration with the Society of MBA Alumni to serve alumni in the Ames – Des Moines area.

The leadership team consists of:

President – Afton Coleman (’14) – graduated from the Iowa State University Professional MBA program in 2014.  A degreed engineer (BS Chemical Engineering, University of Iowa, 2005), Afton solves challenges related to product management, marketing and chemical process functional safety as a Product Manager for Emerson in Marshalltown, Iowa. Her spare time is spent enjoying her family as well as fostering her growing interest in photography. Afton is looking forward to developing new connections among MBA Alums through the Society of MBA Alumni.

Vice President – Jeff Emrich (’13) graduated from the full time MBA program in 2013, prior to which he obtained an undergraduate degree in Chemical Engineering also from Iowa State University. He is currently employed at Wells Fargo as a Credit Risk Analytics Consultant. Jeff is looking forward to staying involved with the ISU MBA Program via the Society of MBA Alumni.

Heather Schrader portrait

Treasurer – Heather Schrader (’12) graduated from the full-time MBA program in 2012. She is currently employed Lincoln Savings Bank as a Commercial Loan Portfolio Manager. Heather and her husband Andrew live in Urbandale with their two cats, Lilly and Wrigley. Heather is looking forward to staying involved with the ISU MBA Program via the Society of MBA Alumni.

Secretary – Kyle Thompson (’16) will graduate from the full time program in December 2016, he has a diverse education and employment background. Having obtained a BA in Philosophy from ISU in 2012, Kyle has worked in the fitness industry, operated a small reptile breeding business, and is currently employed as a financial planner for Waddell & Reed. He enjoys spending his free time reading, being active, and working with animals. Kyle also enjoys volunteering and hopes to help make the MBA alumni program even better through his service!

Social Chair – Kassie Silberhorn (’16) graduated from the Professional MBA program in 2016.  Kassie has undergraduate degrees in Business and Management from Saint Ambrose University in Davenport, Iowa.  She is currently employed by Iowa Mold Tooling as a Buyer.  She spends her free time reading, traveling, and teaching as an adjunct lecturer.  Kassie is looking forward to staying involved with the ISU MBA Program via the Society of MBA Alumni.

Professional Development Chair – Nicolene Hodgkiss (’18) is currently enrolled in the Professional MBA program. She has an undergraduate degree in Interdisciplinary Studies from the University of Central FL. Nicolene has worked in several industries including optical research, fine dining, and insurance administration. She spends her free time with her husband, walking their two dogs, watching or reading sci-fi and fantasy, crocheting, or volunteering with children. Nicolene wants to help build a strong network for ISU MBA alumni and students and provide them opportunities to grow through the Society of MBA Alumni.

The inaugural leadership team (Spring 2015) consisted of President Crystal Johnson (MBA ‘10), Vice President Joli Coil (MBA ‘13), Secretary Adam Hertzke (MBA ‘06), Treasurer Jana McConnell (MBA ‘09), Leadership Chair Alicia Clancy (MBA ‘13) and Social Chair Joy Evans (MBA ‘06).

The Society of MBA Alumni Bylaws regulate purpose, membership, board officers, and activities.

To join or find out more, please email Diana Sloan at .